• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 TwentyMiles

TwentyMiles

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 09 October 2019 - 07:31 PM

I am new to the sport. I decided to purchase a 29" Cannondale hard tail as my first bike. The bike came with tubed WTB Ranger 2.25 tires. I have adjusted air pressure etc. The problems I have are uphill traction over roots etc., and overall roughness on rocky terrain. Frankly, I get beat up on some trails. My question is: is it worth going to a larger tubeless tire? Or, should I just stick with the current tires until I upgrade the entire bike (I plan on going to a full suspension bike in the next year). Any advice is appreciated, including brands and models. I have been looking at Maxxis minions. Thanks

#2 lirch

lirch

Advanced Contributor

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 379 posts

Posted 09 October 2019 - 08:39 PM

Simply going tubeless with the wheel/tire setup you have will be an improvement. If your current wheel/tire setup will allow. Larger tires will be an even further improvement both in traction (tire choice depending) and cushiness. The question is, how much are you willing to fork out for those added benefits? A set of tires can easily run you upwards of $100. Add in sealant (and possibly tubeless tape) and labor charges if you don’t work on your own bike, and you could be lookin at a close to $200 bill. If you can stretch that possible $200 setup til next year when you acquire said full suspension, I personally think it’s worth it. Hopefully you don’t get a 1”-2” gash in the sidewall of those nice new Maxxis tires you’re lookin at on the first ride though.

#3 TwentyMiles

TwentyMiles

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 09 October 2019 - 08:58 PM