6 replies to this topic

#1 Doug

Doug

Advanced Contributor

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 02 January 2010 - 04:25 PM

I have been mountain biking for about 5 years now and I guess my riding style would be considered "agressive trail riding". I get out to Fruita and Crested Butte when I can and I ride all the local trails every week during the summer and fall months. Anyways, I am no novice but I recently bought a decent singlespeed dirt jump bike and am having a hard time coming to terms with jumping, drops, and getting used to flat pedals(I have been running clipless for a long time). I bought this bike to help improve my overall technical riding and to do some urban riding and dirt jumping but since I have gotten it I have had quite a few unexpected meetings with Mr. Ground. Any tips at all would be helpful.I Also want to get out to the figure eight park as soon as the weather gets decent.

#2 PatrickP

PatrickP

Advanced Contributor

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 550 posts

Posted 02 January 2010 - 06:21 PM

My only advice is to ride with people jumping on regular basis, you can learn a lot from them and just watching them. Urban rides are another good place to learn to get used to the flat pedals (proper bunny/J hoping technique for example).

Ramp Riders is another good place to take your DJ'er this time on the year... except you'll be hitting Mr. Plywood and Mrs. Concrete instead.

Watch for sessions on the Gateway Freeride site if you're looking for people to sesh/ride with: www.mtb-stl.com The board is a little dead this time of the year though, so you've been warned. [:)]
Posted Image

#3 Doug

Doug

Advanced Contributor

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 03 January 2010 - 02:08 PM